District 9670 Model United Nation Assembly (MUNA) was held at Muswellbrook Council Chambers on Saturday 23 May. It is a special event as the young people from high schools that are sponsored by a local Rotary Club have the opportunity to debate resolutions that are focussed on contemporary international issues. The counsellors prepare, advise and support the students prior to and during the event. In 2015, fifteen teams from fourteen schools competed for two awards.
The Rotary Club of Muswellbrook was outstanding as the hosting club, with a fine MUNA dinner on the Friday night at the Muswellbrook RSL club, with the Rotarians providing catering at Saturday’s assembly. Muswellbrook RSL Club and Muswellbrook Nissan were this year’s major sponsors with additional support from The Hunter Melanoma Foundation and The Great Building Society.
Kate Cavanagh from Hunter Rotaract was the Secretary-General ably guided by our own Stephen Jackson. The success of the event is underpinned by the respective high schools, the teachers and the many Rotarians and, in 2015 Rotaractors, who are involved in the planning and in conducting the actual event.
Team Germany from Kotara High School, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Charlestown, was judged the premier debating team at MUNA 2015. They received the Excellent Achievement award. This team will be sponsored by District 9670 to attend the MUNA Nationals in Canberra in August 2015.
District Governor, Gerard McMillan and Yvonne Palmer with Jake Rexter and Lena Payne of Kotara High School.
The second award is subject to a team demonstrating a commitment to the concept and promotion of world peace. In 2015, Team Italy from Mount View High School, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Cessnock, was awarded the Peace Prize for their advocating issues related to world peace.
District Governor, Gerard McMillan and Yvonne Palmer with Marnie Bullen and Cameron Abbott of Mount View High School.